2013 Legislative Review Reports: SB 120

The RLCCA adopts positions on a number of bills each legislative session for the purpose of holding our elected representatives in Sacramento accountable. This post is part of a series showing how our positions compare to those of various elected officials.

If you would like to call a bill to our attention for rating in the current legislative review session, please comment on this post or send an email to contact@rlcca.org.

SB 120 — Changes to Ban on Liquor Sales near La Sierra Univeristy
Analysis Under existing law, liquor sales were banned near certain categories of institutions (schools, prisons, the State Capitol builing, etc). This bill implements a request by the City of Riverside to reduce the exclusion zone around La Sierra Co from a one-mile radius to a half-mile radius.

The correct policy is to repeal the restrictions entirely, or at least to leave the determination to the appropriate local governments. Piecemeal exceptions to bad policies are decidely sub-optimal, but are at least a step in the right direction.

RLCCA Position Yes
Status Signed into law
Aye Nay Abstained

Jerry Brown


Joel Anderson

Jim Beall

Tom Berryhill

Marty Block

Anthony Cannella

Ellen Corbett

Lou Correa

Mark DeSaulnier

Bill Emmerson

Jean Fuller

Ted Gaines

Cathleen Galgiani

Loni Hancock

Edward Hernandez

Jerry Hill

Ben Hueso

Bob Huff

Hannah-Beth Jackson

Steve Knight

Ricardo Lara

Mark Leno

Kevin De León

Ted Lieu

Carol Liu

Bill Monning

Jim Nielsen

Alex Padilla

Fran Pavley

Curren Price

Richard Roth

Darrell Steinberg

Mimi Walters

Lois Wolk

Rod Wright

Mark Wyland

Leland Yee

Ronald Calderon

Noreen Evans


Katcho Achadjian

Luis Alejo

Travis Allen

Tom Ammiano

Toni Atkins

Frank Bigelow

Richard Bloom

Bob Blumenfield

Raul Bocanegra

Susan Bonilla

Rob Bonta

Steven Bradford

Cheryl Brown

Joan Buchanan

Ian Calderon

Nora Campos

Ed Chau

Wesley Chesbro

Rocky Chávez

Connie Conway

Ken Cooley

Brian Dahle

Tom Daly

Roger Dickinson

Tim Donnelly

Susan Eggman

Paul Fong

Steve Fox

Jim Frazier

Beth Gaines

Cristina Garcia

Mike Gatto

Jimmy Gomez

Lorena Gonzalez

Rich Gordon

Jeff Gorell

Adam Gray

Shannon Grove

Curt Hagman

Isadore Hall

Diane Harkey

Roger Hernández

Chris Holden

Brian Jones

Reggie Jones-Sawyer

Marc Levine

Eric Linder

Dan Logue

Bonnie Lowenthal

Brian Maienschein

Allan Mansoor

Jose Medina

Melissa Melendez

Holly Mitchell

Mike Morrell

Kevin Mullin

Al Muratsuchi

Adrin Nazarian

Brian Nestande

Kristin Olsen

Richard Pan

Jim Patterson

Henry Perea

John A. Pérez

V. Manuel Pérez

Bill Quirk

Sharon Quirk-Silva

Anthony Rendon

Rudy Salas

Nancy Skinner

Mark Stone

Phil Ting

Don Wagner

Marie Waldron

Shirley Weber

Bob Wieckowski

Scott Wilk

Das Williams

Mariko Yamada