2013 Legislative Review Reports: ACA 9

The RLCCA adopts positions on a number of bills each legislative session for the purpose of holding our elected representatives in Sacramento accountable. This post is part of a series showing how our positions compare to those of various elected officials.

If you would like to call a bill to our attention for rating in the current legislative review session, please comment on this post or send an email to contact@rlcca.org.

ACA 9 — Restrictive requirements for write in canididates
Analysis This bill raises the petion requirements for write-in candidates in primary elections to unreasonably high levels. In the 2012 elections, there were six congressional or legislative races where incumbants were opposed only by write-in candidates who went on to qualify for the general election. Had this bill been in effect, all six of those races would have seen all opposition locked out by ballot access rules.
RLCCA Position No
Status Failed in Assembly
Aye Nay Abstained

Katcho Achadjian

Travis Allen

Frank Bigelow

Wesley Chesbro

Rocky Chávez

Connie Conway

Brian Dahle

Tim Donnelly

Steve Fox

Beth Gaines

Jeff Gorell

Shannon Grove

Curt Hagman

Diane Harkey

Brian Jones

Eric Linder

Dan Logue

Brian Maienschein

Mike Morrell

Brian Nestande

Kristin Olsen

Jim Patterson

Don Wagner

Marie Waldron

Scott Wilk

Luis Alejo

Tom Ammiano

Toni Atkins

Richard Bloom

Bob Blumenfield

Raul Bocanegra

Rob Bonta

Steven Bradford

Cheryl Brown

Joan Buchanan

Ian Calderon

Nora Campos

Ed Chau

Ken Cooley

Tom Daly

Roger Dickinson

Susan Eggman

Paul Fong

Jim Frazier

Cristina Garcia

Mike Gatto

Jimmy Gomez

Lorena Gonzalez

Rich Gordon

Adam Gray

Isadore Hall

Roger Hernández

Reggie Jones-Sawyer

Marc Levine

Bonnie Lowenthal

Jose Medina

Holly Mitchell

Kevin Mullin

Al Muratsuchi

Adrin Nazarian

Richard Pan

Henry Perea

John A. Pérez

V. Manuel Pérez

Bill Quirk

Sharon Quirk-Silva

Anthony Rendon

Rudy Salas

Nancy Skinner

Mark Stone

Phil Ting

Shirley Weber

Bob Wieckowski

Das Williams

Mariko Yamada

Susan Bonilla

Chris Holden

Allan Mansoor

Melissa Melendez