2013 Legislative Review Reports: AB 1323

The RLCCA adopts positions on a number of bills each legislative session for the purpose of holding our elected representatives in Sacramento accountable. This post is part of a series showing how our positions compare to those of various elected officials.

If you would like to call a bill to our attention for rating in the current legislative review session, please comment on this post or send an email to contact@rlcca.org.

AB 1323 — Temporary ban on fracking
Analysis Hydraulic Fracturing (“fracking”) is a relatively new technique for oil and natural gas extraction, using pressurized fluid injection to break up rock formations so the oil or gas will flow into wells so it can be extracted. The technique is controversial because of environmental concerns (specifically, that the oil or gas, or the extraction liquid, with contaminate groundwater or escape to the surface). These concerns seem to be exaggerated, at least in cases where the fracking is performed responsibly.

Currently law places all oil and gas extraction under state regulation and requires advance regulatory approval for all drilling activities. This bill would amend current law to forbid all fracking in CA unless and until the Division of Oil and Gas creates and puts into effect regulations specifically for fracking.

A ban, even a temporary one, would be overkill given the low level of risk, and the wording of the bill seems designed to push for unreasonably strict regulations based on bad science.

RLCCA Position No
Status Failed in Assembly
Aye Nay Abstained

Tom Ammiano

Toni Atkins

Richard Bloom

Bob Blumenfield

Nora Campos

Ed Chau

Wesley Chesbro

Roger Dickinson

Paul Fong

Mike Gatto

Jimmy Gomez

Rich Gordon

Marc Levine

Bonnie Lowenthal

Holly Mitchell

Al Muratsuchi

Adrin Nazarian

John A. Pérez

Anthony Rendon

Nancy Skinner

Mark Stone

Phil Ting

Das Williams

Mariko Yamada

Katcho Achadjian

Travis Allen

Frank Bigelow

Susan Bonilla

Cheryl Brown

Rocky Chávez

Connie Conway

Brian Dahle

Tom Daly

Tim Donnelly

Susan Eggman

Steve Fox

Jim Frazier

Beth Gaines

Jeff Gorell

Adam Gray

Shannon Grove

Curt Hagman

Diane Harkey

Brian Jones

Eric Linder

Dan Logue

Brian Maienschein

Allan Mansoor

Jose Medina

Melissa Melendez

Mike Morrell

Brian Nestande

Kristin Olsen

Jim Patterson

Henry Perea

V. Manuel Pérez

Rudy Salas

Don Wagner

Marie Waldron

Shirley Weber

Scott Wilk

Luis Alejo

Raul Bocanegra

Rob Bonta

Steven Bradford

Joan Buchanan

Ian Calderon

Ken Cooley

Cristina Garcia

Lorena Gonzalez

Isadore Hall

Roger Hernández

Chris Holden

Reggie Jones-Sawyer

Kevin Mullin

Richard Pan

Bill Quirk

Sharon Quirk-Silva

Bob Wieckowski