2013 Legislative Review Reports: SB 467

The RLCCA adopts positions on a number of bills each legislative session for the purpose of holding our elected representatives in Sacramento accountable. This post is part of a series showing how our positions compare to those of various elected officials.

If you would like to call a bill to our attention for rating in the current legislative review session, please comment on this post or send an email to contact@rlcca.org.

SB 467 — Improved warrant requirements for email searches
Analysis Under current law, warrants are only required to search email or other electronic communication records if the service provider offers those services to the general public. This bill would extend the warrant requirement to all electronic communication records and would require the owner of the records (the person whose email account is being searched) be served with a warrant within three days of the search unless there’s a court order specifically authorizing a delay of up to 90 days at a time. This seems a reasonable and proper statutory implementation of the fourth amendment’s protections against unreasonable search and seizure.
RLCCA Position Yes
Status Vetoed
Aye Nay Abstained

Jerry Brown


Joel Anderson

Jim Beall

Tom Berryhill

Marty Block

Ronald Calderon

Anthony Cannella

Ellen Corbett

Lou Correa

Mark DeSaulnier

Bill Emmerson

Noreen Evans

Jean Fuller

Ted Gaines

Cathleen Galgiani

Edward Hernandez

Jerry Hill

Ben Hueso

Hannah-Beth Jackson

Steve Knight

Ricardo Lara

Mark Leno

Kevin De León

Ted Lieu

Carol Liu

Bill Monning

Jim Nielsen

Alex Padilla

Fran Pavley

Richard Roth

Darrell Steinberg

Andy Vidak

Lois Wolk

Rod Wright

Mark Wyland

Bob Huff

Loni Hancock

Norma Torres

Mimi Walters

Leland Yee


Katcho Achadjian

Luis Alejo

Travis Allen

Tom Ammiano

Toni Atkins

Frank Bigelow

Richard Bloom

Raul Bocanegra

Susan Bonilla

Rob Bonta

Steven Bradford

Cheryl Brown

Joan Buchanan

Ian Calderon

Nora Campos

Ed Chau

Wesley Chesbro

Rocky Chávez

Connie Conway

Ken Cooley

Brian Dahle

Tom Daly

Roger Dickinson

Tim Donnelly

Susan Eggman

Paul Fong

Steve Fox

Jim Frazier

Cristina Garcia

Mike Gatto

Jimmy Gomez

Lorena Gonzalez

Rich Gordon

Jeff Gorell

Adam Gray

Curt Hagman

Diane Harkey

Roger Hernández

Chris Holden

Brian Jones

Reggie Jones-Sawyer

Marc Levine

Eric Linder

Dan Logue

Bonnie Lowenthal

Brian Maienschein

Allan Mansoor

Jose Medina

Holly Mitchell

Mike Morrell

Kevin Mullin

Al Muratsuchi

Adrin Nazarian

Brian Nestande

Kristin Olsen

Jim Patterson

Henry Perea

John A. Pérez

V. Manuel Pérez

Bill Quirk

Sharon Quirk-Silva

Anthony Rendon

Rudy Salas

Nancy Skinner

Mark Stone

Phil Ting

Don Wagner

Marie Waldron

Shirley Weber

Bob Wieckowski

Scott Wilk

Das Williams

Mariko Yamada

Beth Gaines

Shannon Grove

Melissa Melendez

Isadore Hall

Richard Pan